NANODAYS-2015

February 16, 2015

Venue: Silver Jubilee Hall, S.N. Bose centre

09:00 - 09:45: REGISTRATION

09:45-10:00: INAUGURATION: OPENING ADDRESS BY THE DIRECTOR, SNBNCBS

Chairperson: Prof. Sameer Sapra, IIT Delhi		
Time	Name of the Speaker	Title of the Talk
10:00 - 10:30	Prof. D. D. Sarma, IISc	Wave-function collapse and strain tuning as distinct tools to engineer photoluminescence
10:30 - 11:00	Prof. Pushan Ayyub, TIFR	Rose petals and lotus leaves: Nanotechnology lessons from nature
11:00 - 11:30	Tea Break	
Chairperson: Dr. Partha Mahata, S.N. Bose centre		
11:30 - 12:00	Dr. B. L. V. Prasad, NCL	New synthetic approaches for the preparation of metal nanoparticle dispersions and assemblies in different solvent media
12:00 - 12:30	Prof. Sameer Sapra, IIT Delhi	Charge separation and extraction from colloidally synthesized nanostructures
12:30 - 13:00	Prof. Anshu Pandey, IISc	Chemistry with bigger atoms
13:00 - 14:30	Lunch Break	
Chairperson: Prof. Manoranjan Kumar, S.N. Bose centre		
14:30 - 15:00	Prof. Amitabha Patra, IACS	New challenges of luminescent nanomaterials

15:00 - 15:30	Prof. Saroj Kumar Nayak, IIT Bhubaneshwar	Giant electronic effect with weak interaction: 2-dimensional atomic scale materials on insulators
15:30 - 16:00	Tea Break	
16:00 – 16:30	Prof. Joydeep Bhattacharjee, NISER Bhubaneshwar	Activation of graphenic carbon by tuning π - conjugation and magnetic order: A computational study
16:30 – 17:00	Prof. Tanusri Saha Dasgupta, S.N.Bose centre	Controlling magnetism in and on carbon materials: A tale of two stories
17:00 – 19:00	Poster Session: P1-P25	
19:00 onwards		Dinner

February 17, 2015

Chairperson: Prof. Pushan Ayyub, TIFR		
Time	Name of the Speaker	Title of the Talk
09:30 - 10:00	Prof. A. K. Raychaudhuri, S.N.Bose centre	Single nanowire devices: Techniques and physics issues
10:00 - 10:30	Prof. A. K. Ganguli, INST	Design of nanostructures for efficient light harvesting
10:30 - 11:00	Prof. N. Ravishankar, IISc	Intriguing structure and transport behaviour of ultrathin single crystalline gold nanowires
11:00 - 11:30	Tea Break	
Chairperson: Prof. A. K. Ganguli, INST		
11:30 - 12:00	Prof. Tarasankar Pal, IIT Kharagpur	Metal and metal oxide particles in the nanoregime
12:00 - 12:30	Prof. Ranjani Vishwanatha, JNCASR	Diffusion in nanocrystal doping: A boon or a bane

12:30 – 13:00	Prof. Angshuman Nag, IISER Pune	Magnetically doped ITO nanocrystals exhibit plasmonics, electrical conductivity, and carrier-mediated magnetic coupling
13:00 – 15:00	Lunch Break Poster Session: P26-P45	
Chairperson: Dr. Sunirmal Jana, CGCRI		
15:00 – 15:30	Prof. Narayan Pradhan, IACS	Some interesting chemistry in designing semiconductor nano heterostructures in reaction flask
15:30 – 16:00	Prof. Kalyan Mandal, S.N. Bose centre	Surface functionalization of transition metal oxide nanoparticles
16:00 - 16:30	Tea Break	
16:30 - 17:00	Prof. Somobrata Acharya, IACS	Tuning of band off-sets at the interface of coupled quantum dots through band gap variation- prospects for photovoltaics
17:00 - 17:30	Prof. Prasenjit Ghosh, IISER Pune	Understanding the physics and chemistry of nano-materials using density functional theory

February 18, 2015

Chairperson: Prof. P.K. Mukhopadhyay, S.N. Bose centre		
Time	Name of the Speaker	Title of the Talk
09:30 - 10:00	Prof. Arun Chattopadhyay, IIT Guwahati	Chemical reaction involving surface ions of colloidal quantum dots
10:00 - 10:30	Prof. Nikhil Jana, IACS	Cell-nanoparticle interaction: Effect of nanoparticle multivalency
10:30 - 11:00	Prof. Mandar Deshmukh, TIFR	Probing phase transitions in nanoscale correlated systems showing MIT and CDW physics using nanomechanics

11:00 - 11:30	Tea Break	
	Chairperson: Prof. Bipul Pal, IISER Kolkata	
11:30 - 12:00	Prof. Samit Kumar Ray, IIT Kharagpur	Optical properties of two dimensional materials for photonic devices
12:00 - 12:30	Prof. Anjan Barman, S.N. Bose centre	Nanoscale magnonics: A new paradigm towards all-magnetic computation
12:30 – 13:00	Prof. Achintya Singha, Bose Institute	Raman spectroscopy: a non-destructive tool for detection at single molecule level
13:00 – 14:30	Lunch Break	
Chairperson: Prof. Rajib Kr. Mitra, S.N. Bose centre		
14:30 – 15:00	Prof. Samir Kumar Pal, S.N. Bose centre	Nano keno: Why nano?
15:00 - 15:30	Prof. Bipul Pal, IISER Kolkata	Pauli blocking dynamics in optically excited quantum dots
15:30 – 16:00	Dr. Sekhar Bhattacharya, SSN Research Centre	Atomic layer deposition in nanoelectronics and photovoltaics
16:00 - 16:30	Vote of thanks	+ Distribution of poster prizes + Tea

Venue for lunch, poster sessions and dinner on 16th Feb: Lawns @ S.N. Bose centre